Photo Critique

This is a critique for the website ScottsCritiques.com. Scott invited his readers to take part and do our own critique of a photo, so this is what I came up with:

Photo by S. Mamdani

My original thought when I saw this photo was that I really like it. It has a great “eerie” feel to it with the fog, and nice leading lines with the road curving off to the left.  But I decided to have some fun with it and see what I could come up with.

Because of the way the trees are leaning it makes the image look crooked. So I rotated it a bit and also did some cropping because I didn’t like that big patch of white at the top center/left.  I also cropped off the tree on the right that is leaning out of the image – we want the viewers to follow the curve in the road and not be distracted by anything going “off the page”.

I also did some adjustments in Photoshop.  First I cloned out the white poles on the left side of the road, and then did a basic tonal adjustment-layer using Levels.  Next I added a “Black & White” adjustment-layer, changed the blend-mode to “soft light”, and reduced the opacity of the layer.  (That gave the image a little bit more “pop”.)  The last thing I did was to add a slight vignette using the “Lens Correction” filter in Photoshop.

It sounds like a lot of work for one photo, but all of this took less than four minutes.

3 thoughts on “Photo Critique

  1. Hi Nicole,
    I like the crop and clone, but would have stopped there. I like the richer, darker more saturated look of the original for this particular photo. I think it lends itself better to the “eeriness” of the scene as opposed to brightening it up. Just my personal preference. Other than that, great job!

  2. Hey Nicole,
    I like everything you did except I have to agree with Gary. I do think that brightening it up takes away from the “eery” feeling. Good catch on the tree leaning out to the right.

Leave a Reply

