Veteran’s Day

Range

Today is Veteran’s Day, and, for those of you who don’t know I served in the US Navy for over eight years before I was a full-time photographer (from 1999-2007). I was looking through some of my old photos from my time in the service and found this one of me while I was stationed in Misawa, Japan in 2002. My primary job while in the Navy was a linguist (CTI), but I also did some security forces training and had the opportunity to become weapons qualified (that’s me shooting an M16).

Being in the military taught me several things and I am a much stronger, more confident person because of it. I love my job right now because I’m doing what I have always wanted to do, but I would never change anything about my past, especially the opportunity to enlist in the Navy.

Thanks to those of you who have served or who are currently serving in the US Military … you are wholeheartedly appreciated.

5 thoughts on “Veteran’s Day

  1. Wow, that’s awesome. Thanks for your service in US Navy, and sharing this info.

    My father served in the Navy in WW2 on the carrier USS Independence.

    You’re all heroes, in my book.

  2. I didn’t know you were in the Navy! Very cool – did you go to DLI? I was in the Army (Japanese, Chinese) and my wife was a CTI in the Navy too (Russian). Happy Veterans Day!

  3. Nicole, thank you SO MUCH for dedicating such a big chunk of your life to serving our country. I’ve bee privileged in the last few years to get to know a number of military personnel, and I hold all of you close to my heart.

Leave a Reply

